“Rear View” – Bum Genius 4.0

So, so far I’ve reviewed AIOs.  Today I’m venturing into the world of pockets.  I don’t have much personal experience with pockets outside of the 4.0.

DSC_1071

BumGenius 4.0 in “Mirror”

DSC_1064

Unstuffed Pocket Diaper

(Please excuse baby toys, and baby fingers in these shots.   But, E was chilling with me while I folded diaper laundry, and took these shots. Real life Mommy, right here.)

The 4.0 comes with two microfiber inserts; a newborn – which is slightly thinner, and a one-size – which was snappable to adjust for rise settings of the diaper.  This diaper is a one-size which can be adjusted and used throughout (for the most part) your child’s diaper wearing days.  The lining of this diaper is a suedecloth material, that lends to a stay dry feel against the baby’s bum.  The great thing about this, and any pocket diaper, is that you can completely customize the absorbency.  Because I prefer using natural fibers, I stuff mine with a bamboo flat, and a hemp insert.

DSC_1069

Top: Nicki’s Bamboo Flat pad folded
Bottom: GMD small hemp insert

I use this combo for overnights.  So far, I’ve had no leaks with this.  E is mostly a tummy sleeper.  Pocket diapers can be troublesome for side sleepers, as pee can leak out of the legs before being absorbed, but I’ve been pretty lucky so far.  This particular combo does make for a bulkier diaper, but it’s not generally a problem for sleeping.  I don’t really use this diaper for daytime, because I don’t need this kind of absorbency during the day, and I don’t feel like she moves as freely with all the bulk.  That said, I could stuff with something less bulky, and this would be a wonderful day time diaper.

DSC_1045

BumGenius 4.0 in “Grasshopper”

DSC_1046 DSC_1048No, your eyes do not deceive you.  This is a different color than the model diaper.  It is the same style.  I apparently have picture taking ADD.  I got these OTB before I realized I hadn’t taken the model shots, so I supplemented with another diaper. Please forgive me for the errors in continuity. 🙂

Also; please forgive me for not including any shots under clothes.  By the time we got in our jammies, we were pretty wiped out, and not into picture taking.

Cleaning these diapers is a breeze!  Because of the lining, any poop sprays off very easily as opposed to some AIOs, where it might get lost in the folds.  Some pocket diapers claim that their inserts will agitate out in the wash.  I don’t follow that practice, and unstuff before they go in the wash, because otherwise they could bunch up in the pocket and not get really clean.  Because all the parts are separate with this diaper, drying time is very quick.  I prefer to line dry anything with elastic, but I can throw all the stuffings into the dryer on high, and this shell will dry very quickly on the line.

The downside of this diaper is the stuffing.  I only have a few so it’s not super bad for me, but an entire stash of these diapers could get overwhelming for me to keep up with.  They do make great diapers for grandparent and sitters, because they go on just like a disposable.

Over all I give this diaper an A.

Price: $$

Pros

  • Customize-able absorbency to fit your particular needs
  • Easy to clean
  • Quick Dry
  • Easy to use

Cons

  • Stuffing/Unstuffing
  • If you don’t stuff with the inserts that are included, there is an extra cost to purchase inserts that work
  • May have to troubleshoot to find an insert combination that works for you
  • Bulky (depending on inserts)

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

