“Rear View” – Bum Genius Freetime

So, this is a post I hope to do weekly to review different types of diapers.  This week I’ll be focusing on the BumGenius Freetime.  The Freetime is an AIO with attached microfiber soakers.  The soakers are only attached on one end, which allows for quicker drying time.  I have had no issues with this diaper personally, although I’m not a big fan of microfiber in general, and am making a personal move to natural fibers.

That said, this is a great diaper for beginners.  This was one of the first AIO’s I bought, and currently have two in my stash.

This is a one size diaper, meaning it can be used, with the exception of the newborn stage, through potty training by adjusting the rise snaps on the front of the diaper. These do have a stay-dry feel for against babies skin, which can help with wetness sensitivities.  It comes in both snap and aplix versions.

DSC_1023

Bum Genius Freetime in “Dazzle”

DSC_1024 DSC_1025

As far as bulkiness of this diaper, I would rate it on the bulkier side.

DSC_1026 DSC_1028

DSC_1029

Problems you may run into with this diaper are compression leaks, which microfiber can be notorious for.  A compression leak is when the microfiber absorbs all it can, and then leaks back out while baby is sitting on it.  Microfiber for some people can also be more difficult to clean, and hold onto stink, although I personally have not experienced this.  I have read reviews that people have not liked having to clean poo from the soaker flaps, but I personally only dealt with EBF poo with these diapers, so I can’t comment on that.  If this diaper came in a natural fiber option, it would probably be one of my very favorites.

Overall I’d give this diaper a B+.

Pros:

  • Extremely easy to use
  • True AIO
  • Ability to add boosters
  • Quick drying time

Cons:

  • Bulkier
  • Could have compression leaks/MF Stink.
2 Comments

  1. Pingback: “Rear View” Bum Genius Original Elemental | Cloth Diaper Love

Leave a Reply

